Happy June! The break from the blog is officially over so it’s back to the hunt.

My week at the beach was wonderful; the weather was perfect and time spent away with friends was much needed. I got back to Stillwater about a week ago and have been busy busy moving out of my house and into my temporary home for the summer. Thanks to friends and my dad I am now somewhat settled…

During my break I was asked to be a nanny for three kids here in Stillwater. I met them last week and they are so much fun. I’ve spent a couple days with them and they get along so well it’s weird but wonderful. I’ll be with them most days during the week when I’m not doing my program stuff, which speaking of…

I went in this past weekend to help out and was able to use my Excel skills as well as get a free sandwich. Not too bad. We have a meeting tomorrow then I’ll spend the rest of the day there to do whatever’s needed. I will actually be getting a new supervisor there soon so that will be interesting and hopefully work out for the best. So far I’m glad I took this position because it’s a super relaxed atmosphere and a lot of the staff members seem really grateful for the help.

I threw in “a little optimism” into my title for this post because while away at the beach, I started to feel more positive and open-minded about my circumstances. Honestly, I could do anything right now…. that’s kind of a cool feeling. I mean I need to be putting myself out there and making the effort to get a job but I don’t know where I’ll be in the next couple months and I’m excited about it. And not quite as hopeless. So yeah.

I just sent my résumé to a previous employer that posts information for recent grads, who have worked for them before. I actually think working for them again but in a different position (they recently started using more social media outlets) would be great. We’ll just see where that goes….

Hope you had a nice Memorial Day! Feel free to comment with advice, cheap ideas for entertaining kids, etc…

