As I’m sure you noticed, I made some color and design changes on the ol’ blog here. I’m still tweaking it a bit and figuring out how to navigate on WordPress. I need another semester of #jb4520!

Anyway, I decided I’d blog about my recent experiences in the kitchen. This is the first time for me to actually attempt cooking and it’s been going well so far. Since I know I’ll be completely on my own in the near future, I wanted to take advantage of learning all I can from my mom, who has an amazing collection of every spice in the world.

During college, I did throw something together here and there but never really ventured from a plain chicken breast with frozen veggies or spaghetti. I haven’t tried anything too fancy yet but here’s what I’ve done so far:

Ranch Style Chicken (from The Pioneer Woman)
Attempts: 2
Success rate: 100%
I’m partial to Ree because I love her picture instructions (I am a visual learner) and she says funny things as you go through the recipe.
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake (again, from The Pioneer Woman)
Attempts: 1
Success rate: 100%
This might be the tastiest dessert I’ve ever had- which is saying a lot- and it was super easy! I threw it together right before I ran out the door to have dinner with my sister and her boyfriend; they loved it!
Raspberry Crisp (guess who, The Pioneer Woman)
Attempts: 1
Success rate: 100%
This was also really easy and yummy. Good summer dessert.
Corn Cup (from the Austin restaurant, Frank)
Attempts: 1
Success rate: 85%
I didn’t actually have a recipe for this but just remembered how yummy it was when a friend and I stumbled upon this place during SXSW. I got some of the ingredients from their menu then googled it to get a more detailed recipe. It wasn’t exactly like what we had at Frank but pretty similar. I’m attempting to make it again tonight and might change up a couple things.
Shepherd’s Pie
Attempts: 1
Success rate: 100%
There is really no right or wrong way to put together a shepherd’s pie. Here’s how I did mine: Simply boil some potatoes, cut carrots, peas and corn (all in separate pots). Mash the potatoes and add butter and garlic if you wish. Cook some ground beef then layer all ingredients in whatever order into a baking dish with potatoes on the top and bottom. Then top with shredded cheddar cheese. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes then another 5 minutes at 380. Done! And yummy. Add a little Worchestire sauce as well.  The amount of each ingredient needed really depends on how many people you’re feeding. I made mine for three people and used one bag of frozen corn, one can of peas, half a bag of baby carrots, one package of beef and three potatoes (but I should have had four).
