Definitions of birthday:

the anniversary of birth, the day of a person’s birth, a day marking or commemorating the origin, founding, or beginning of something

This Sunday marks my 23rd birthday; I definitely see this birthday as the “beginning of something.” Although I’ve been back in Dallas since August, I know there are still so many more big life changes to come.
My original idea for this post was to actually talk about some of the important decisions that have brought me to where I am today and the one thing they both had in common.
I consider two things when I think about some of the biggest decisions I’ve made in my life so far:
1. Picking a college
2. Getting a real job
The interesting thing they both had in common was that they were both completely unexpected and like nothing I had ever imagined.
It was my mom who told me to apply to OSU. I was convinced only farmers went there but decided to give it a shot. Four years later and I’m a Cowboy for life.
This past July a company in Plano, TX contacted me about a job opportunity. I’d never heard of them and had no desire to go back to the Dallas area. But something told me to go to that interview. And now, I can honestly say I love my job.
It’s interesting how both of these events in my life came with no warning or preparation. But I jumped in with both feet and have learned so much along the way.
Consider this when approaching those moments of big decisions:

“Leap and the net will appear.”

{Julia Cameron}

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Hope everyone has a HAPPY and safe Halloween!

