I have mulled over this post idea for a while and decided today that yes. I’m going to write it. So here we go.

I have a few friends who can relate to the advice I feel compelled to share and some who aren’t quite there yet. If you are graduating in the near future, you have probably poured over countless blogs, articles and what have you on how to land the perfect job. That’s good. Keep doing that. Job hunting is the reason this blog was born. It’s a necessary step of life. It isn’t fun but it can be a rewarding learning experience.

I am in no way calling myself the job hunting expert. Many can tell you I was a wreck during this process. But I survived. So now I’d like to share with you how you may come out alright as well:

1. Celebrate. That’s right- celebrate! You graduated! That is a huge accomplishment. You worked hard. You’re awesome. Make sure to not let possible unemployment cast a shadow on this important moment in your life. Not having a job on graduation day is OK. You are not a failure. You’re a college graduate. Hell ya.

2. Read. My personal recommendation: “What Color is Your Parachute?” Also read blogs and articles from experts in your field as well as professionals who write about job hunting.

3. Socialize. Social media is becoming huge in the job hiring process. This article sums up why and how you should it to find a job. But socialize offline as well. TELL people you are looking for a job and what kind of job. You never know who you might meet and what connections they may have.

4. Focus. Looking for a job is a job. Commit to it. Be prepared.

5. Dial. 8 out of 10 people will not email you back (based on my personal experience). CALL them. Yes, emailing is still good; you can attach your résumé but mailing it is better. And calling that company to let them know who you are and that your résumé is on the way is better.

6. Do You. In an interview, in your résumé, on the phone, in an email, in every aspect of the way you may present yourself to a company- be yourself. Be professional but also be yourself. I walked into my first interview and I wasn’t sure if the job was going to meet my expectations. The interviewer asked me what I wanted in a career and I told her honestly, despite the fact that it didn’t exactly align with the job description. Needless to say, I wasn’t offered the job but I’m so glad I didn’t hold back and try to be who I thought they wanted me to be.

7. Leap. Where I ended up wasn’t at all what I expected or what I *thought* I wanted. But it had turned out to be much more than anything I could have imagined. I am very grateful. Embrace the unexpected. Go where you thought you may never go. Leap.

Congratulations to all those graduating! I wish you nothing but the best. Please leave any additional job searching advice; I know I just barely skimmed the surface on the topic so the more feedback- the better!

