The holidays are now behind us and the new year is now ahead of us. I’m excited. 2010 was a hell of a good year but tough too. I encountered several life changes, heartbreak and moves. But now I’m here and ready to see what 2011 has to offer. And of course I must prepare by deciding on a few, practical New Years Resolutions:

1. Thrift

I’m taking on the challenge to begin buying at least 50% of my clothes from secondhand stores. I love clothes. I love bargain shopping. And I love anything unique even if “used”; I love a good, vintage find. So I am now dedicated to make thrifting a hobby. If you know of any good places in Dallas- let me know! I have a couple to start with but I’ll need more throughout the year!


2. Volunteer

A couple summers ago I had the privilege of being an intern for the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Oklahoma. It was such an incredible experience that I’ve been itching to get back involved with them. So I will be contacting the North Texas chapter to get involved ASAP. If you want to know more about the Make-A-Wish Foundation, visit their website here.

Our “Wish Kid”, Sharon, who went to Disneyworld last spring:

3. More

There’s always less we can do, bad habits we can break but there are certain things I want more of. For one, reading. I’d love to read at least one book a month. 2010 was a great year of reading and I’d like to keep it up but also keep myself accountable by making sure I read one a month.I hope one day to have a home with a wall full of books. I don’t think I could ever get a Kindle or Nook or whatever… I just love the look of a full collection of books:

Another is blogging. I have more to share, more to write, more to learn. WordPress informed me that the status of my blog is “fresher than ever.” So I feel that I am on the right track.

4. Home

While I am currently enjoying my time back with M & D complete with home-cooked meals and no cleaning necessary, I hope to find my own home this year. After constantly moving the past four and a half years and feeling always a bit uprooted, I would love to find a home for at least the next year in Dallas. Whether it be in an apartment, house, condo, town house or wherever, I just want it to feel like my own.

So bring it on 2011. I’m ready. I hope everyone had a wonderful, fun New Years celebration! Please share any resolutions you may have… or tips for keeping them!

