Well friends, the lovely holiday Valentine’s Day is upon us… I personally enjoy this holiday but I know others find it difficult so I thought I’d take this opportunity to pass along some the best relationship advice resources I’ve discovered.

#1 Miss Patti Stanger

You may know her from Bravo’s “Millionaire Matchmaker” and maybe even watched an episode or two. While the show is somewhat silly, Patti is the real deal. Although single, she knows her stuff. Her advice is spot-on in my opinion and I recommend watching her show or keeping up with her on Twitter for some tough love advice.

“Thou Shall Break the Text Habit: You’re not in high school, so stop passing notes. If you do, he may actually call you….And step away from the computer. Get out of the chat zone & into reality. If you stop IMing so quickly, he might just call you.” – Patti

#2 It’s Called a Breakup Because it’s Broken by Greg Behrendt & Amiira Ruotola

I will be the first one to shamelessly admit I have sought out reading materials post-breakup. I came across this one a couple years ago while going through a tumultuous relationship and some key points have stuck with me to this day. It’s from the same authors of “He’s Just Not That Into You” (another good one). No need to have just broken up with someone to relate to it, go read it even if you are casually dating and happy. You might be surprised what you learn.

Key points include:

• Why you shouldn’t call him—and what he’s thinking when you do
• How to keep your friends and not lose your job
• How to avoid breakup pitfalls: IMing, stalking
• Reframing reality—seeing the relationship for what it was
• How to transform yourself into a hot, happening Superfox and get a jump on the better, brighter future that awaits

There’s nothing wrong with seeking outside help when it comes to your relationship rut because let’s face it, your friends and family are only going to listen to you for so long. They love you but can only help you so much. So in addition to turning to friends and family, I highly recommend these resources and please share whatever you have found inspiring! Have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!!

